top of page

Stretch U




How many of us have Facebook? Silly question, right?! I know, well, like most, I have found myself aimlessly scrolling while relaxing. The first time I saw an ad for Stretch U, I thought it seemed interesting. Then I noticed that I kept seeing this same ad all the time. Well, I could not ignore it anymore and I decided to find out about this Stretch U facility.


So, What is it?

Stretch U is referred as full-body assisted stretching and this is a company that provides one-on-one assisted stretching. Below I am sharing two of their techniques:


The Carey Stretch: (Full- body systematic stretching technique)

· Developed by physical therapist John Carey

· Focuses on entire body

· PNF (Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation) a more advanced form of flexibility training(stretching/contracting)

· Most effective forms of stretching and increasing range of motion

Lock and stretch: (Full- body myofascial stretching technique)

· Release tension and improve flexibility with small fluid movements

· Targets specific areas in fascia (densely woven specialized system of connective tissues that unites all the body’s compartments and underlying muscles.


The First Stretch Session:

On your first appointment, you get a 20 min Carey stretch, followed by a 10 min Lock, and stretch. Followed by a Q&A session to ask questions and discuss which technique really hits home for you.

Benefits of Stretch U assisted stretching:

· Increases range of motion

· Improves performance

· Prevents injury

· Reduces pain and inflammation

· Reduces stress

· Improves posture

How many sessions:

I went two times, to gain the experience and additional information for this blog. I ended up really feeling a difference in my body. Sara Tuxbury, hailing from St. Louis, is the manager, and lucky for me, the person I go to. She is super sweet and easy to talk to. I swear going to her has also turned into a therapy session. I would wager that anyone who works with her could find themselves relaxing and releasing anxious thoughts through healthy conversation It is just par for the course. It naturally happens.

Final word:

I would totally recommend this to any and everyone. I loved it so much that after a few sessions, I became a membership. My membership allows me to get two 40 min sessions a month. I like to combine both techniques. Since I have started getting “stretched,” I make it a habit to stretch every day and the best part is that you can apply these techniques anywhere and anytime. It has been a powerful addition to my workout routine!





Banner03.PNG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page